lemony olive oil banana cake recipe

I have received a request for the recipe for the cake I mad yesterday. My version is only a slight alteration of the one I stole it from, but I actually think (after a few more pieces) that it is completely delicious!
Lemony Olive Oil Banana  & Chocolate Bread without Eggs
  • 2 cup plain flour 
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup dark chocolate buds
  • 1/3 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 1/2 cups mashed, VERY ripe bananas
  • 1/4 cup vanilla yogurt
  • 1 teaspoon freshly grated lemon zest 
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
Combine the flours, sugar, baking soda, and salt. Add the chocolate pieces and combine well.
Mix together the olive oil, banana, yogurt, zest, and vanilla. Pour the banana mixture into the flour mixture and fold with a spatula until just combined.
Pour into a greased tin and bake in 180° C oven until brown – about 50 minutes.
Cool in the pan for 10 minutes, then turn the out to cool completely.
I was too lazy to make the glaze, but it would make an nice addition. Here is what you need: 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup icing sugar & 4 teaspoons freshly squeezed lemon juice.

In a bowl, whisk together the sugars and the lemon juice until smooth. When the cake is completely cool, drizzle the glaze on top of the cake.
Today we played at the park, ate cakes/macaroons/lamingtons and enjoyed some familiar company. 
Scarlett was so excited at the prospect of a friend of hers attending ballet classes with her this term, that she made a felt scene about it.
3 thoughts on “lemony olive oil banana cake recipe

  1. I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don't know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.SusanHair Loss Cure

Leave a Reply

