putting down roots

Today I planted a fig tree in our yard. It’s a tiny little thing with only a couple of leaves but it already has one small fig on it.

So content I am here in this house, that I know I will watch it grow over the years to come.

Gardening seems to be a gauge of our happiness. My husband and I have never been green thumbs. At our last house it was a chore to even mow the lawn. We were reluctant to spend money on planting trees as we knew deep down we never wanted to stay there long term.

Over the last few months, we have spent more time in the garden than ever before. Mowing, planting, mulching, composting and even weeding! I seem to find a sense of calm in the garden. It’s like I’ve finally realised what all those gardeners out there have been enjoying.

Don’t get me wrong, we are actually quite lazy. We enjoy reading the paper on our days off and don’t tend to get going until after lunch time – the worst time to start on a hot summers day. But at the end of the day when we sit back and enjoy the view from our verandah we are content. It’s a nice change.

Rain

Under the trees

back yard from verandah

2 thoughts on “putting down roots

  1. I totally agree with you about gardening. When things were really crap at work, Raleigh and I would wonder outside and water the garden. It was such a relaxing time. Eliza

Leave a Reply

