twenty third

Today we went to visit an old friend I worked with many moons ago. She was like my mum at work at my first teenage retail job which lasted through my university days.

We’ve kept in touch over the years and my mum has become quite good friends with her too.

At this time of year she goes crazy and decorates her house top to toe with Christmas paraphernalia. People I tell can never really understand the extent of it, but here is photographic proof.

She makes the most delightful fruit cake (which usually goes into the amazing wedding cakes she makes) and mini puddings and other sweet treats. She has grandchildren of her own, so my kids always have a great time playing with all her toys and have never actually manages to break any of her amazing decorations (some of which are quite fragile).

It’s hard to believe tomorrow is Christmas Eve. I’ll be down at the fish markets early (with the crowds I’m sure) to get my good for dinner tomorrow night. I’m looking forward to it.

Leave a Reply

