third

Bananas have gone way down in price again and for the first time in I don’t know how long, I had some over-ripe ones left in the fruit bowl. This never occurred when they were selling for $14 a kilo!

So instead of composting them, I decided to bake them – along with some nearly-too-ripe strawberries we had in the fridge.

I found this delicious Brown Butter Banana Strawberry Bread recipe (and great blog too).

I thought the strawberries on top made it look a little festive – keeping in with my theme, and it was absolutely delicious. We all enjoyed some as an after lunch and dinner treat.

One thought on “third

  1. I never thought I'd be so happy to see over ripe bananas in the fruit bowl and have been making banana cakes too. My favourite recipe is the Simple Banana Cake recipe in Stephanie Alexander's Cook's Companion. This one looks yum and yours looks just like the one on the other blog!

Leave a Reply

