glorious cupcakes

My sister bought me the delightful Hummingbird Bakery cookbook for christmas and I hadn’t tried out any recipes (only drooled over them) until today.
My mum is off to Noosa on the weekend to help out my sister who is due to have twins anytime now. Scarlett and I decided we should bake her some cupcakes for her last visit for a while. We settled on chocolate cupcakes with pink frosting.
I was very pleased that Xavier joined us in the kitchen today, as he is often asleep when Scarlett and I bake. I want to make sure he learns that cooking is fun for everyone and I think starting early is the key to learning skills in the kitchen. As with his sister (and all small children I suspect), his forte is licking spoons and beaters, and tasting the finished product. I was surprised at his restraint while cooking as he is such a hungry little thing. I thought he would be poking his fingers into the bowl the whole time, but he just stood on his chair waiting for my instructions. He helped pour flour and cocoa into the mix and even helped hold the electric mixer. 
Our fluffy pink frosting deserved a fancy finish, so I decided to christen the tupperware squeeze it ball I bought some time ago. I was pleasantly surprised with the outcome and the sprinkles added the perfect finishing touch. 
4 thoughts on “glorious cupcakes

  1. You'll be in for a treat. I'm sure you will be writing plenty of them down. I've will also be trying their blondies, nutty apple cake, rocky road, cocounut meringue cake, key lime pie, chocolate cheesecake and red velvet cupcakes very soon!

  2. Glad you are using your Chrissy present. My boss bought me a copy last year, but I haven't baked anything from it yet. Waiting until I have finally shed the 10kg I put on in the past 12 months! Soon…soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

